Is Grapple Kosher?

e79bbc6ce107ca598cc907494de527af.jpg

 

Our office receives many kashrus questions from our community and beyond on a daily basis. The COR kashrus hotline as well as the questions@cor.ca email address are reliable forums where consumers can get clear and quick answers to their inquiries from an experienced kashrus professional.





Recently, we received a question regarding the kosher status of Grāpple®. Not to be confused with Snapple, a drink which can often be certified kosher, Grāpple® is not kosher.

What is Grāpple®?

The following paragraph is information that is available at the Grapple website www.graplefruits.com.


How Is A Grāpple® Brand Apple Made?

Grāpple® brand apples begin either as Washington Extra Fancy Gala or Fuji Apples, depending upon the season. These "premium apples" are the ones that take on the grape flavor best. This Patented Process is complex and the ingredient mix primarily includes concentrated grape flavor and pure water. All ingredients are USDA and FDA approved and the process has been licensed by the Washington State Department of Agriculture.

From the above paragraph, one is alerted to the presence of grape flavour in Grāpple®. Upon further inquiry, our office has determined that Grāpple® uses real grape in the flavour mix and that the product is indeed NOT KOSHER.