The ABC’s of Kosher

What is Kosher?

Kosher means “acceptable” and the term originates from the Bible and is set out in greater detail in the Talmud and other Jewish legal works. For example, the Bible lists certain animals which are not considered kosher (i.e. pigs, rabbits, shellfish, and insects). Meat from permitted animals may only be consumed if the animal is slaughtered in a specified manner by a trained butcher or shochet. In addition, milk and meat products must never be mixed. Finally, certain products such as most cheeses, grape juice and wine must be prepared either in whole or in part by Jews.