Top 15 Questions from the COR Passover Hotline (2018)

Top 15 Questions From The Cor Passover Hotline (2018) Title Image

COR is pleased to answer questions from kosher consumers throughout the year. This service is especially popular during the weeks leading up to Passover, as is evidenced by the over 10,000 questions answered last year prior to Passover.

This COR Passover magazine can be used as a reference guide for much of the information that is needed during Passover. However, many questions do come up and we are here to answer them. To contact us, call the COR Passover Hotline at (416)635-9550 ext. 100 or email us at You can also use our Text-A-Question service by texting your question to (647)402-1910 for yes/no questions.

Here is a list of the more frequently asked questions from Passover 2017:

1. Does sugar require Kosher for Passover (KFP) certification?
Answer: Regular white sugar does not require Passover certification. However, some companies will re-pack sugar using the same filling machines as other products and there might be cross contamination. Therefore, avoiding plastic containers and sugar from discount retailers (such as Dollarama) is recommended as these are likely to have been packed by third party companies. So to clarify:

1. 2 Kilo and industrial sugar – No Passover Certification Required

2. Avoid plastic containers and sugar from discount retailers (such as Dollarama) as these are likely to have been packed by third party companies

3. For the following Redpath products – No Passover Certification is Required:

a. Redpath sugar packets

b. Redpath sugar cubes (white and brown)

c. Redpath Dark and Light Brown Sugar, Golden and Light Yellow Sugar

4. Redpath Demerara is NOT kosher for Passover

2. May extra virgin olive oil be purchased without certification?
Answer: NO. We recently became aware of reports claiming that much of what is being sold as extra virgin olive oil is actually diluted with lower grade olive oil, sunflower, or canola oil. Indeed, an industry expert stated that “75-80% of the oil sold in the U.S. does not meet the legal grades for extra-virgin oil.” We are currently conducting a comprehensive study of the matter together with the Canadian Food and Wine Institute at Niagara College. We will share the results as soon as we have conclusive evidence. In the meantime, we can only recommend extra virgin olive oil that carries Passover certification.

3. Do lemon or lime juice products require KFP certification?
Answer: YES. But ReaLemon, Lemon juice, and ReaLime Lime juice certified by the OU are acceptable for use on Passover even without KFP certification.

4. Does toothpaste need to be chametz free?
Answer: Since toothpaste is used orally, it should be chametz free. All Colgate and Sensodyne toothpastes are chametz free.

5. Do sliced raw mushrooms need KFP certification?
Answer: NO

6. Do spray & liquid deodorant, hairspray and perfume need to be chametz free?
Answer: Since it is theoretically possible to distil alcohol found in these products and restore the alcohol to an edible state, they should be chametz free. The same applies to dry shampoo. All stick deodorants, however, are acceptable.

7. Which alcohols that are found in personal care products are problematic on Pesach and which are not?

Answer: Alcohol that contains chametz could be referred to in any of the following ways:

1. Ethyl Alcohol

2. Ethanol

3. Denatured Alcohol

4. Alcohol Denat.

5. SD Alcohol

6. SDA or SDA Alcohol

7. Alcohol

The following are not sourced from chametz:

1. Benzyl Alcohol

2. Cetyl Alcohol

3. Isopropyl Alcohol

4. Methanol

5. Stearyl Alcohol

8. Does frozen fruit need KFP certification?
Answer: Any frozen fruit, whole or sliced, that is unsweetened and without additives (i.e. syrup, citric acid, ascorbic acid, vitamin C) is acceptable without KFP certification.

9. Which coffees do and don’t require KFP certification?


a. All regular ground coffees are acceptable for Passover use.

b. Decaffeinated coffee: Coffee is often decaffeinated by means of ethyl acetate, which is derived from either kitniyot or chametz. Therefore, decaffeinated coffees are not acceptable without Passover certification.

c. All flavoured coffee requires Passover certification.

d. Instant coffees often contain maltodextrin, which is derived from either kitniyot or chametz. Therefore, all instant coffees require Passover certification. Nescafe Taster’s Choice and Folgers Instant Coffee are acceptable even without Passover certification. Please note: Nescafe Rich Instant Coffee is not acceptable for use on Passover the two products do look similar (see below).

10. Can I purchase a cup of black coffee at a non-kosher establishment such as Starbucks or Tim Horton’s?
Answer: Definitely not. These establishments bake items such as muffins and donuts which are chametz and as such all of the utensils used are chametz.

11. What medications are recommended for children during Passover?

Answer: The following are both acceptable on Passover and do not contain non-kosher ingredients:

1. Liquid Tempra is for children and is acceptable.

2. Advil- Children Suspension [All Flavors], Infants’ Drops

3. Advil- Junior Strength Swallow Tablets (NOT Chewables)

4. Motrin Suspensions and concentrated drops

5. Claritin Kids Syrup

6. (Although not a children’s medication – Benadryl Exilir is chametz free as well.)

12. Does frozen salmon require Passover certification?

Answer: Frozen salmon requires Passover certification.

Frozen salmon that is acceptable even without Passover certification:

1. Kirkland Atlantic (Farm Raised) Salmon when it bears the OU symbol

2. Kirkland Wild Frozen Salmon only after rinsing it off (OU)

13. Is Metamucil suitable for use on Passover?

Answer: Only the Original Coarse Metamucil is acceptable. It is also kitniyot free.

14. How about Benefibre?

Answer: Benefibre is acceptable for use on Passover in Canada. Please note Benefibre from the United States has a different formula and is not kosher for Passover.

15. And Restoralax?

Answer: Restoralax is acceptable for use on Passover.